Formed in 2011 by founding members Marshall Dexter (guitars) and Brett Reid (vocals), Tyrant quickly gained a local reputation for an energetic and powerful live performance. This was solidified at Boonstock 2011, where Tyrant shared a stage with the likes of Trooper and Creedance Clearwater Revisited. A picture of vocalist Brett Reid was featured in local Edmonton print, along with an article praising the band’s performance at the festival. Guitarist Robert Brinton joined the band in 2012 and Tyrant began to develop their modern sound. Tyrant continued as a hobby band over the next several years, playing local bills until current drummer Kurtis Marceniuk and bass player Taylor Laroche joined in early 2015 to solidify the band’s lineup. The band quickly recorded the self-produced demo Limitations and released it in the summer of 2015. With this new release Tyrant began to earn spots on bigger bills through 2016 and 2017, as the band opened for large touring metal acts Skeletonwitch, Protest the Hero and Goatwhore. Today Tyrant is highly motivated and driven to advance their career as a professional metal band. The band just released the self-produced three track EP The Existential Reversal in 2018, along with a music video for the track Spoils of Decimation. The EP contains Tyrant’s most technical material to date, complete with a unique blend of crisp guitar work, smooth bass lines, blistering drumming and devastating vocals. Tyrant is relentless in the continuous development of their sound and crushing live performances.

Notable shows

Boonstock w/Trooper and Creedeance Clearwater Revisited

Loud as Hell Festival                                                                 

Anvil w/Tyrant, Iron Storm and Leave the Living at The Starlite Room

Farmageddon Festival

Skeletonwitch w/Tyrant and Wolfrik at the Mercury Room

Perceptual Distortion w/Tyrant and guests at The Starlite Room

Protest the Hero w/Protosequence and Tyrant at Shell Place Ballroom

Goatwhore w/Anciients and Tyrant at Brixx



Brett Reid - Vocals

Marshall Dexter - Guitars

Robert Brinton - Gutiars

Taylor Laroche - bass

Kurtis Marceniuk - drums